Underage DWI can have a heavy impact on an individual who is 21 years of age or younger and suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
When you or your child has been charged with DWI, there is a lot involved, especially when applying to get the driver’s license back. The laws that govern underage DWI are a lot like the laws that govern regular DWI. There are penalties and they may even be more difficult to deal with than the typical first-time DWI.
If you have been charged with underage DWI or you are the parent of a child that has been charged with this crime, you have the right to seek the legal representation of a qualified and highly competent Mankato DWI lawyer who is dedicated to securing the best outcome for you.
Guiding You Through The Legal Process
There is a law called Vanessa’s Law that stems from the 2004 death of Vanessa Weiss. She was killed in a vehicle driven by a 15-year-old unlicensed driver. This resulted in the introduction and adoption of Vanessa’s Law.
Vanessa’s Law says that anyone who is under the age of 18 and drives under the influence of alcohol or drugs is subject to the following:
- Must wait until 18 years of age to obtain a driver’s license
- Cannot obtain the license until $680 in fines have been paid
- A DWI knowledge test must be passed
- A classroom driver education course must be completed, even if the course has been completed in the past
- The driver’s permit must be in place for 3 months before applying for the driver’s license exam
- The judge may find that there are other penalties that are warranted
The purpose of this law is to discourage teen drivers from driving after the use of drugs or alcohol. Because Minnesota has a “Not a Drop Law,” any driver who is under the age of 21 and is suspected of driving while intoxicated is not allowed to have a single drop of alcohol in their bloodstream.
Combating The Underage DWI Penalties
There are a number of reasons why a driver under the age of 21 may have alcohol in their bloodstream. Cough medicines are one reason why a person may blow a number on a breath test. With the help of your Southern Minnesota DWI Lawyer, facts that can benefit you in your case can be brought about so that the outcome is a fair one.
Contact A Mankato DWI Attorney
Underage DWI is very serious because it has an impact on the driving privileges of a person under 21 and it has a variety of other consequences that are long-term. If you have been charged with underage DWI or you are the parent of a minor who has been charged with underage DWI, you deserve the right to a solid defense. To learn about your rights and options, call the Rosengren, Kohlmeyer & Hagen Law Office, Chtd. at 507-625-5000 for an initial consultation.