Minnesota Burglary Attorney
Burglary is Defined as the unlawfully breaking and entering into another person’s property with the intent to commit a criminal act. Burglary is often charged as a felony, but it depends on the degree charges. This is why it is important that you choose the best criminal defense attorney to defend you in burglary charges.
What Defines The Degree of Burglary?
There are three different degrees of burglary in Minnesota, generally based on a few different elements of the crime.
First Degree Burglary is when the building of another is entered, without consent, while the building is occupied or when the burglar enters with possession of a “dangerous weapon”; or when the burglar assaults a person in the building.
An individual convicted of first degree burglary could be sentenced up to 20 years in prison or a fine up to $35,000, or both.
Second Degree Burglary is when the building of another is a dwelling, bank or pharmacy; or a tool is used to gain access to property/money such as crowbar. A conviction for second degree burglary could result in up to ten years in prison or a fine up to $20,000, or both.
Third Degree Burglary is when the burglar either commits or intends to commit either a gross misdemeanor or a felony in the buildling. The sentence is up to five years in prison or a fine up to $10,000, or both.
Fourth Degree Burglary Is when a person commits or intends to commit a misdemeanor in the building, other than stealing. An individual convicted of fourth degree burglary may be sentenced up to one year in jail or a fine up to $3,000, or both.
If you’re charged with Burglary, call for a free consultation, learn what an experienced criminal defense team can do for you.